When I was young, I would help my grandmother bake a simple vanilla cake. It was nothing special. It did not have any special ingredients. It was not made for any special occasion. In fact it was just a simple vanilla cake. From time to time, she would put raisins in the mixture. 

I still remember making this cake with her. From mixing the butter and sugar. Me sticking my finger in the sticky mixture to taste it. I remember it as if it was yesterday. 

I found the closest recipe to that cake and my daughter and I made it last night. It was our first trial. My daughter smiled and she mixed the ingredients. Both had fun smiling while baking this simple cake. 

It may be plain vanilla, but it has the best taste in the world. 

Love you abuelita!

Leave a Reply

